Sort by
Sort by

PowerBar to fuel BMC Racing Team’s roster of top-ranked international cyclists as official sports nutrition supplier

Back to Press releases
Florham Park, N.J.

PowerBar today announced that it has secured a new sponsorship agreement with the BMC Racing Team, a United States-registered WorldTour cycling team. The deal designates PowerBar® as the squad’s exclusive sports nutrition bar, energy gel and sports drink supplier through 2016.

Consistently-ranked among the top 10 cycling teams in the world, the BMC Racing Team rolled out for its pre-season training camp this month in Denia, Spain. PowerBar sports nutritionists outfitted the team with PowerBar® products for use during the camp and throughout the 2014 training and racing circuit. PowerBar collaborated with BMC Racing Team nutritionists to tailor PowerBar performance nutrition strategies for individual riders. Through the sponsorship, PowerBar® branding will be featured on the team’s official water bottles and all team vehicles.

“We are proud to have PowerBar joining the other outstanding supplier sponsors of the BMC Racing Team in 2014,” BMC Racing Team President/General Manager Jim Ochowicz said. “Their lineup of quality, high-performance products will help fuel our athletes to many wins in 2014 and beyond.”

“The right sports nutrition strategy is an essential piece of equipment for any cyclist, especially those who are going head-to-head against the top riders in the world,” said Frank Jimenez, PowerBar Global Business Head. “We proudly announce our new role as the official sports nutrition supplier to BMC Racing Team’s world-class roster, and will continue to partner with team nutritionists to help each individual rider and the overall squad realize their goals this season.”

BMC Racing Team’s 2014 roster includes:

  • Three past world road champions: Evans (Australia), Philippe Gilbert (Belgium) and Thor Hushovd (Norway);
  • Two reigning national road champions: Michael Schär (Switzerland) and Hushovd
  • One national time trial champion: Peter Velits (Slovakia)
  • Greg Van Avermaet, the team's top rider in the 2013 individual WorldTour rankings
  • Six new riders for 2014: Darwin Atapuma (Colombia), Silvan Dillier (Switzerland), Ben Hermans (Belgium), Peter Stetina (United States), Peter Velits (Slovakia) and Rick Zabel (Germany)

PowerBar also recently renewed its support of the Tour de France® through 2019, continuing more than a decade of sponsorship of the world’s premier cycling event and its elite riders. PowerBar will present the stage winners throughout the race, offer on-course feed zones for riders throughout all stages of the 2014 Tour de France and will provide support vehicles with PowerBar® performance nutrition products in the official Tour caravan.

About PowerBar

PowerBar provides fueling options, training tools and motivation to help athletes push to defy their physical limits. The company’s products are backed by decades of leading edge sports nutrition science and its created-by-athletes-for-athletes product development process. The portfolio includes a line of performance energy products featuring C2MAX, a dual-source energy blend. This C2MAX blend has been shown to improve endurance performance by up to 8%. The portfolio also includes a post-workout protein bar offering formulated to build lean muscle and promote faster recovery after training and competition. In addition to BMC Racing, PowerBar continues to support some of the world’s top endurance events including the Tour de France, Ironman, Boston, New York City, CGI Rock ‘N’ Roll and Berlin Marathons, as well as thousands of grassroots endurance events globally. For more information visit or follow PowerBar on Facebook and Twitter.

About the BMC Racing Team

The BMC Racing Team is a United States-registered UCI ProTeam title sponsored by BMC Switzerland. Consistently ranked among the top 10 teams in the world, its 2014 roster includes three current national champions: Thor Hushovd (Norwegian road), Michael Schär (Swiss road) and Peter Velits (Slovakian time trial). Hushovd (2010) joins Cadel Evans (2009) and Philippe Gilbert (2012) as past world road champions. In 2013, the BMC Racing Team won 30 races – bettering the previous team record of 21 in 2012 – to go with seven team classification titles. In 2011, the BMC Racing Team won 12 races as a WorldTour squad, including a victory by Evans in the Tour de France. As a pro continental team in 2010, the team achieved a number of successes, including leading both the Tour de France and the Giro d’Italia in its first participation in both races. The BMC Racing Team was founded in 2006 and is headquartered in Santa Rosa, Calif.

Media Contacts:

PowerBar US
Kathleen Boyle - [email protected] - 781-738-1821

BMC Racing Team
Georges Lüchinger - [email protected] - 707-331-8869