1919-1938

Crisis and opportunity

After the war military demand for canned milk declines, causing a major crisis for Nestlé & Anglo-Swiss in 1921. The company recovers, but is rocked again by the Wall Street Crash in 1929, which reduces consumer purchasing power. However, the era carries many positives: the company’s management corps is professionalized, research is centralized and pioneering products such as Nescafé coffee are launched.


Highlights

1921-1922

 

Falling prices and high stock levels lead to the first, and only ever, financial loss for Nestlé & Anglo-Swiss in 1921. Banker Louis Dapples joins as Crisis Manager, and encourages the company to appoint professional managers for the first time. Administration is centralized, and research is consolidated at one laboratory in Vevey, Switzerland.


1922

Nestlé Canada is officially incorporated.


1929

 

The company buys Switzerland’s largest chocolate company Peter-Cailler-Kohler, the origins of which date back to 1819 when François Louis Cailler creates one of the country’s first chocolate brands Cailler. Chocolate now becomes an integral part of the Nestlé & Anglo-Swiss business.


1934

 

Malted chocolate drink Milo is launched in Australia, and its success means it is later exported for sale in other markets. The company continues to develop baby and infant foods in this inter-war period, and launches Pelargon in 1934, a full-milk powder for babies enriched with lactic acid bacteria, to improve its digestibility.


1936

 

A competitive market for chocolate in Switzerland encourages Nestlé-Peter-Cailler-Kohler to innovate by launching Galak white chocolate and Rayon, a chocolate with honey and air bubbles, the next year. Vitamins are a major selling point for healthy products in the 1930s, and Nestlé launches vitamin supplement Nestrovit in 1936.


1938

 

Nescafé is launched as a ‘powdered extract of pure coffee’ that retains coffee’s natural flavour, but can be prepared by simply adding hot water. The product is the brainchild of Max Morgenthaler, who begins work on it in 1929, when the Brazilian government asks Nestlé Anglo-Swiss to find an outlet for its huge coffee surplus.

1919-1938

Crise et occasions

Une fois la guerre terminée, la demande militaire de lait en boîte connaît une baisse et provoque une crise majeure pour Nestlé & Anglo-Swiss en 1921. L'entreprise se relève, mais elle est de nouveau ébranlée lors du krach boursier de Wall Street de 1929, qui réduit le pouvoir d'achat des consommateurs. Cette période présente toutefois des avantages: la gestion est confiée à des professionnels, la recherche est centralisée et de nouveaux produits comme le café Nescafé font leur entrée sur le marché.


1921-1922

 

En 1921, la chute des prix et les stocks élevés entraînent une première, et unique, perte financière pour Nestlé Anglo-Swiss. Le banquier Louis Dapples se joint à l'entreprise à titre de gestionnaire de crise, et c'est lui qui prônera l'embauche de gestionnaires professionnels. L'administration est centralisée et la recherche est regroupée dans un laboratoire à Vevey, en Suisse.


1929


Nestlé Anglo-Swiss fait l'acquisition de la plus importante entreprise de chocolat, Peter-Cailler-Kohler. Cette dernière est née en 1819, alors François Louis Cailler crée Cailler, l'une des premières marques de chocolat au pays. Le chocolat fait désormais partie intégrante des activités de Nestlé & Anglo-Swiss.


1934


La boisson au chocolat et au malt Milo est lancée en Australie et son succès est tel qu'elle sera ensuite exportée vers d'autres marchés. L'entreprise continue de mettre au point de nouveaux aliments pour bébés et nourrissons entre les deux guerres. En 1934, elle lance Pelargon, un lait entier en poudre pour bébés, enrichi de bactéries lactiques pour accroître sa digestibilité.


1936


Le marché concurrentiel du chocolat en Suisse incite Nestlé-Peter-Cailler-Kohler à innover en offrant Galak, un chocolat blanc, et l'année suivante Rayon, un chocolat au miel avec des bulles. Dans les années 1930, les vitamines sont considérées comme un argument de vente important dans le domaine des produits santé; Nestlé lance donc Nestrovit, un supplément vitaminique, en 1936.


1938

 

Nescafé, un «extrait de pur café en poudre» qui conserve l'arôme naturel du café, mais que l'on prépare en ajoutant simplement de l'eau, est lancé sur le marché. Le produit est une invention de Max Morgenthaler, qui y travaille depuis 1929, après que le gouvernement brésilien a demandé à Nestlé & Anglo-Swiss de trouver un débouché pour ses énormes surplus de café.